Ride sharing services have become a familiar part of our society. About 25% of the U.S. population uses ride-sharing at least once a month. Uber alone has over 3.8 million drivers worldwide. Regardless of how you utilize a ride sharing service, it is important to know what steps to take if you are involved in an accident, whether as a driver or a passenger.
As in any auto accident, there are important steps you must take immediately after the accident. Uber and Lyft accidents are no different.
Steps to take if you are involved in an Uber / Lyft auto accident:
- Seek immediate medical attention.
- Call the police and obtain a copy of the police report.
- Take detailed notes of the accident. Include the time of day, weather conditions, etc.
- Take photos of any injuries, vehicle damage, skid marks on the road, etc.
- Get the contact information of any witnesses who saw the accident.
- Do not sign anything. Speak with an experienced Uber or Lyft accident attorney, first.
If the Uber / Lyft Driver is at Fault
Ordinarily, when you get into a car accident while driving for work you are considered an employee, which allows your employer’s insurance to take responsibility for covering you. However, as a rideshare driver, you are not considered an employee, but rather a third-party contractor. Drivers also use their own vehicles. This limits the liability that the service can be left with if an accident occurs. Because of this, it is important to have all of the details in a rideshare accident, as these will be heavily relied upon when filing a claim for financial compensation.
If the rideshare driver was determined to be at-fault for the accident and your injuries meet or exceed the state standard for “serious injury,” you, as the injured passenger can file a claim against the rideshare company’s $1 million insurance policy.
Florida law views serious injuries as those that are permanent, involve significant and permanent scarring or disfigurement, or significant and permanent loss of a bodily function. Florida law requires rideshare drivers, specifically Uber, to carry $1 million in insurance to cover these exact types of accidents, covering both the driver and passengers who may be injured in a rideshare auto accident.
If the Other Driver is at Fault
Since Florida is a no-fault state, drivers are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. This insurance coverage is meant to cover your medical expenses and other non-medical related costs. However, if injuries and damages surpass the $10,000 PIP coverage, the injured party can seek payment from the negligent party’s insurance. If the other driver involved in the accident is at fault, their insurance will then be responsible for covering damages related to the accident. If the at-fault driver is uninsured, the rideshare company will typically use uninsured motorist coverage to cover damages. If the at-fault driver has insurance but their policy limit does not cover all damages, services such as Uber and Lyft have underinsured policies to cover the remaining damages.
Florida Law Provides Protections for Uber & Lyft Accident Victims
Florida law provides important protections for passengers and drivers who are injured in accidents involving Uber and Lyft rideshares. If you were seriously injured in an auto accident involving an Uber or Lyft ridesharing vehicle, you may be entitled to substantial compensation. These companies are required to carry additional insurance beyond the state’s minimum requirements. Keep track of your symptoms (both physical and mental) as they occur. If anything feels not normal or out of the ordinary, make sure you document that fact and inform your doctor. Do not sign off on any settlement initially offered by your insurance (or the other driver’s) insurance company, before speaking with an attorney, first. Abogado Hispano con experiencia en juicios sirviendo las necesidades legales de la comunidad de la Florida.